Level Crossings

Level Crossings

Bord na Mona’s Industrial Railway includes 97 level crossings and 49 underpasses. In general, at locations where the industrial railway crosses national primary roads, the railway has been accommodated in an underpass; however some interfaces with national secondary and regional roads are also in the form of underpasses.

Interfaces with regional, local and tertiary roads are in the form of level crossings. Level crossings have been graded according to the grade of the road which they traverse. There are three broad grades of level crossings:

  1. Grade A – Gated level crossings of national regional roads
  2. Grade B - Gated level crossings of local primary and local secondary roads
  3. Grade C – Unguarded level crossings of local tertiary roads


Where this machine worked

help us build heartland

Contribute articles, photographs, memories & more
Bord na Móna ~ with nature